Lakota Indians (Sioux) on Pine Ridge Reservation, South Dakota

pow-wow

The feelings I get as I see these people in a far away part of the country is complicated and makes me emotional. This is not the first time I have seen videos about them. Even in school, learning about the American Indians has always been fascinating and interesting. It would take me weeks to learn more. Perhaps I should because my interest is so strong.  I remember going to one of my son’s back to school night get togethers and saw that the room was filled with American Indian things like woven blankets that the kids did on little looms and there were dream catchers. Everyone was so proud of their work. I had no idea they were learning about it but there is a lot even here where I live in Southern California. Our state is lined along the coast with missions of the first settlements in the area. Our local schools and cities thankfully have not stopped letting the youth know that there were American Indians here first.

I don’t even know which American Indian blood I have but I know I have some and even my parents who are Hispanic with Spanish and Latin American blood feel close to the native indians. The house is decorated in a Southwestern theme and nick knacks and paintings and pottery are an eclectic mix of different indian items and colors. Quietly, it has become part of me.

Although the Native Indian cultures are idolatrous in nature worshipping Mother Nature and the Great Spirit. I am at odds at what to do regarding these people. If we witness to them, will we take them away from their culture and heritage? I am not sure what to do but I do love them all even though they are going through so many troubles. I feel the same about all the other cultures that are being persecuted and hated and have fallen into despair including the Yazidi in Syria. These cultures are seeped in a special culture and unlike Islam which tries to take over nations, these small cultures are not trying to overpower anyone but want to preserve their people and ways so that it goes on for generations.

In some of these videos, a different point of view that is not my own is in them. Some even have a hostile or view of opposition towards Christianity. The ones that still believe as their ancients and forefathers of the plains, believe all Christians were the ones who forced them to become Christian and to become westernized and killed their people. How do we approach them when there WERE Catholics that did force them to convert to their false version of Christianity and also killed them. How do I tell them that what they did was not even Christian and Jesus did not want us to kill people because of their faith in another god or spirit? If you want to comment and maybe help make some sense on it and maybe give your idea on how we can help them as Christians and care about their souls as God does and wants them to be saved as well.

Anyway, today I did buy some supplies to make some things for them and send it to them. If you feel for them as well and want to help them, please pray for them and please check out this website and see if you want to help out in other ways.

https://friendsofpineridgereservation.org/

Russell Means: Welcome to the American Reservation Prison Camp (Full Length) [1 hr 36 min]

‘We Live to Survive’: One Week with Lakota (Part 1) [26 min]

‘We Live to Survive’: One Week with Lakota (Part 2) [25 min]

 

Please see our NWO Movie Page for more movies and videos on the Lakota Indians.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Lakota Indians (Sioux) on Pine Ridge Reservation, South Dakota

  1. It is so heartbreaking…I came across a video on Facebook the other night about how the children (in the past 50-60 years) were taken from their parents, given to the Catholic nuns and priests in boarding schools…and sexual and physical abuse and degradation was rampant. All their culture was ripped from them and they were punished if they even spoke their native language. After I watched that I realized why those folks can be so suspicious of any Christians, because of that false Christianity that in part destroyed their way of life. We live about 6 hours from Pine Ridge, I have wanted to do a mission trip there for awhile but we are in a relatively young church plant so I’m not sure it will happen soon. Such horribly hard lives, destroyed by drugs and alcohol and cyclical abuse, they surely need Jesus. The real Jesus.
    Heather

    Like

  2. Pingback: Black Hills Indian Prophesy of the Black Snake | Christians Awake 2 NWO

Leave a Reply

