How To Become a Christian

by grace

There are different ways to witness and give the gospel but this is my current explanation. I did make a gospel tract called “The Gospel Message To Change Your Life” if you would like to read it on The Gospel Page,

 

The way I came to Christ was through a lot of mistakes…lol. I was thinking about Christianity and Pagan Spirituality and I read a book that compared them about 12 years ago. I don’t remember the name but it was at a public library. One of the verses convicted me and made me realize I was headed on the road to destruction. I thought I was a good person but I wasn’t as good as I thought when I saw my sins listed in some bible verses. Things were happening at the same time, I got a gospel tract during Halloween and my life was falling apart. All I wanted to do was find Jesus and try Him because I was trying other things and they weren’t working.

One of the best selling books at that time was The Purpose Driven Life so that was the book I turned to to learn how to get saved. It wasn’t really that great and I don’t even remember the words but I knew I needed Jesus. I went to my room, shut the door and confessed everything I ever did wrong and asked for forgiveness. It took a long time and I was crying a lot. I said to Jesus, I give my life to You”……That was the life changing point of my life. I changed and everything started to be different. My life was still falling apart but God was with me. I prayed hard but nothing stopped the ending of my marriage.

The first thing I did was get rid of all the occult stuff in the house and start going to church. I went to a large church and they were nice but I was always crying. I’m sure they couldn’t take it anymore. I started to watch TBN and Daystar and listen to Sermons everyday for hours. I went about everything the wrong way because I had no good guidance or anyone to help me.

If I were to do it all over again I wouldn’t go to mega churches that read out of the NIV or read a Rick Warren book or watch Christian TV.

If you want to get saved, this is how I would tell you to do it. Read the book of John. It is hard to read because John the Apostles writes in an odd romantic way but he tells the most about Jesus and by the time you finish you will know A LOT about Jesus. It packs a lot of information in one book. It is the gospel message, the good news of Jesus Christ that talks about the death, burial and resurrection. After you read it, I would make the decision of your life and choose whether you want to follow Jesus for the rest of your life.  If you choose Jesus, I would reread John 3 and read Romans 10 which tell you how to get saved. Humble yourself and decide to leave your old life of unbelief or another religion (this is repentance which is a change of your mind and make a 180 degree turn towards Jesus).  Do it biblically as the bible instructs and be honest and sincere. It’s not difficult. No hoops to jump, no initiation or sacraments or anything you have to earn. All the work was already done by Jesus on the cross. Your part is to believe.

 

The rest is about obedience. I explain that in another article. “I Just Got Saved, Now What?”

 

 

Leave a Reply

